urgently need help, shrimp dying from new plants - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 1 (permalink) Old 02-05-2020, 03:03 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Unhappy urgently need help, shrimp dying from new plants

Hello guys,

i am a newbie to fish keeping as well as keeping aquarium plants in my tank. Just earlier i bought a couple of plants from LFS and i did a 20% water change and used the tank water to clean the aquarium plants along with a second rinse with new treated water and soaking it for about 10 minutes before adding them to my 5-gallon tank.

However, about 10 minutes in i realized that my shrimp were behaving weirdly in my tank. They seemed to be jumping and scrambling frantically out of my tank. After another 5 minutes, they were jumping and then started sinking. I immediately knew something was wrong and transferred them to a 2-gallon container containing some old tank water with some plant trimmings from tank maintenance that i did a week before and added some new treated water and hurriedly researched to find out about the issue.

I found out that my new plants might have pesticides that contained copper to kill snails but even trace amounts will kill invertebrates as well. I removed my snails from the tank after hearing that. I'm not sure if my shrimp/snail will survive the night but they seem to be doing much better ( active) now in the quarrantine tank. I will continue to monitor them.

Problem now is, my quarantine tank is not cycled and i want to return my shrimp & snails back into the main tank but I am unsure of how I can remove the pesticides from the tank.. I can't restart my tank again as there are fishes inside the tank that are doing fine..