2Likes
  • 2 Post By somewhatshocked

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 09-30-2019, 03:41 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Tiny worms - Newbie new tank advice

Hey guys.

So I'm a total newbie and watch too many hours of beautiful freshwater aquascapes and decided to try a no filter freshwater tank as my first (aggressive I know). It's supposed to be a 5 gallon tank but it really holds 4 tops. I put about an inch of composted soil with rocks on top. Initially, I think I put too many rocks because the plants didn't seem to be doing well. Also, the cloudy water initially didn't really go away until I did a big water change. I went away on a trip and one of my plants completely died and made my water smelly and foul and an algae problem. I had a zebra snail that is a total champ because it survived all of it. I had an amano survive 24 hours and a baby ghost shrimp for less. After further research, I found that I really should have waited. The light was on for 13 hours.

So I replaced almost all the water, trimmed the plants removed a lot of the rocks and vacuumed. I restarted the tank, lifted by cfl light higher from the surface of the water and changed the time to 12 hours, the cloudy water cleared within a day, and after two weeks, all looks good. So I bought 4 whisker shrimp, thinking that if the zebra snail has enough to eat... One got sick after 24 hours but the other 3 seem to be doing well after over 48 hours in the tank.