What lighting do I need? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-24-2019, 12:37 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
What lighting do I need?

Hey all. I have the newa 50 which has a 7w led ( 18 white leds at 4500k and 6 actinic Royal blue less 445nm). The aquarium is 35cm x 35cm x 36cm which will result in approximately 45 litres after you account for substrate.

I'm going to start injecting co2 into it. Is the lighting setup I have sufficient or do I have to upgrade considering I'm going to start injecting co2?. My lfs suggested the kessil a80. What do you think? I'm wide open to suggestions
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-24-2019, 01:59 PM
Algae Grower

I am pretty new to aquatic plants so I am not going to be able to give you a lot of specifics, but I do know that the answer will depend on what you are growing. If you don't know yet then the light you have is perfectly fine. Once you plant you will need to revaluate.

If you are growing a carpet of high light plants you may need more light or if you are growing Java Moss you may have too much light etc.
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-24-2019, 02:51 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Thanks 🙂

post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-24-2019, 09:02 PM
Planted Member

post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-30-2019, 05:34 AM
Algae Grower

I brought the chihiros wrgb. I run co2 and 1/4 strength ei dosing. 15gal cube.

I've been struggling with bad Green dust algae for some time, turns out the light is way stronger than I thought.

I was running it for 10hrs, at 100% for 4 hrs. I'm now running it at 80% for 1hr then ramping down over 5. The algae has definitely slowed right down. Once it is gone I'll start increasing the light intensity, then photoperiod length.

Coupled with the commander 4, it's a great light. Definitely over kill! But it gives lots of headroom to play. Just remember in the beginning that less light is more.