One Fish to Rule Them All - The Planted Tank Forum
 27Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-12-2019, 04:45 AM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (0/0%)
One Fish to Rule Them All

Setting up a 2.6 gal Spec lll. Planning on a Red Racer Nerite and (to be determined) shrimp. I have three different fish in mind as the only fish in the tank:

1 male guppy (is the tank big enough?)
or
1 Pea Puffer (will it bother a large Nerite, or the shrimp?)
or
1-3 male Endler's

My own personal preferences aside, are any of these inappropriate for this tank? Thanks for your input!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-12-2019, 05:07 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (41/100%)
Puffer will kill the shrimp and snail. Guppies and Endlers would work, but not the most ideal in a 2.6 gallon. I'd imagine the guppies would probably eat shrimp as well, but I have no personal experience with those two together.
Fisherking likes this.
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-12-2019, 02:07 PM
Algae Grower

No doubt in my mind that the pea puffer would eat the snail, and possibly the shrimp. also I wouldn't put one in anything less than a 5 gallon. One guppy would be pushing the limits but it is possible but not recommended. I would go with about 3 endlers with the shrimp and the nerite snail. Hope this helps good luck
Fisherking likes this.

post #4 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-12-2019, 03:01 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

In 2.6g I would just go for shrimp n snails. It's not really big enough to sensibly house any fish.
post #5 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-12-2019, 03:20 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (3/100%)