2Likes
  • 1 Post By Ankhari
  • 1 Post By OVT

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-24-2019, 11:36 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Newbie questions for 7 gallon

Hey everybody! I'm new to planted tanks (have been keeping a 20gal with plastic stuff for 3 years). I bought a Lifegard full view 7 gallon tank, but can't find explanations for the things I'm new to. I've always used a HOB filter and placed a heater on the back wall. However, this tank has 4 chamber back compartment that's totally confusing me.

From left to right it has an overflow chamber, a chamber with carbon balls, a chamber with sorta sponges and a bag of odd little filter media, then a chamber for the filter (Lifegard quietone 400 - cant find much info on it).

My biggest questions are:
  1. Do I need the carbon balls? I want to put a 75W heater in that chamber, but I'll be keeping a betta, java moss, amazon sword, microsword, and baby dwarf tears -- do I need the carbon for those things?
  2. Can I put the heater in the overflow chamber and effectively heat the whole 7 gallons?

Thanks in advance for your replies! I also have a 13W LED for the tank -- do I need ferts and/or c02 for the plants I have? If so, what do I use?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-28-2019, 03:53 AM
Algae Grower

I started out with the same tank, but in the 5 gallon version. The viewing angles are pretty great.

You don't need the carbon, at all. You could throw in filter floss or Purigen, if you wanted. The filter lives up to its name and is silent.

Right. Amazon swords are going to outgrow your tank pretty much the weekend after they're planted. Java moss will be great. Anubias nana or nana petite will also be nice if you attach them to a rock or wood.

Aquarium Co-Op has great beginner videos on planted tanks, ferts, CO2, and plants and the people in this forum have crazy-advanced knowledge.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk