Tank advice for a new user - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-12-2018, 11:22 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Question Tank advice for a new user

Hi all! I am very new to planted tanks in general. I am headed off to college soon and they don't allow pets in my dorm. I want a small, preferably low maintenance tank to keep on my desk. I don't want to use fertilizers or C02, but other than that I have no clue what I am doing.

All help and advice is appreciated! (And please keep in mind that I have no clue what I am doing)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-13-2018, 12:23 AM
Algae Grower

Google, YouTube, and browse the planted tank. Just about all the basic question you have would have been covered and you can learn other things along the way. From the sound of it youre probably looking for a basic light, low light plants, and low fish bioload.
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-13-2018, 12:42 AM
Planted Member

You could keep a small group of shrimps! Depending on your natural water parameters, you could choose either neocaridina or caridina shrimps, or even amanos. They're all super cool to watch and have a low bioload! And you could add some fancy snails as well Or maybe you could look into dwarf crayfish too but they prefer hard water, so if the water at your college is soft, that's probably not a good idea. African dwarf frogs are another option for a nano tank!

As for plants, you could go with some mosses, which are great for shrimp too! Or any low light plants like anubias or java ferns. Do you know what type/model of tank you are getting? And how many gallons/liters? That would help narrow some choices down!