New to hobby - Planted Spec V - The Planted Tank Forum
 23Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 38 (permalink) Old 08-02-2018, 08:48 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
New to hobby - Planted Spec V

Hello!

I am new to the planted aquarium hobby. I have always liked fish and had a freshwater tank as a kid. Elapse 30 years, and my wife actually suggested that getting a fish tank for the kids might be a good idea. I think she was thinking a small fish tank for something like a betta fish or gold fish, but I took my opening and ran with it. so here it goes. (pics are attached)

Equipment:
Fluval Spec V with mods. Electrical tape covering lower back up intake. Cut holes in the pump outflow tube, metal mesh over the overflow, took out carbon and have 2 biomax bags in filter
Cobalt Neo Therm 25W heater in filter compartment
Stock Lighting
CO2 - Tippman 20 oz and Aquatek mini CO2. CO2 at 1 bubble/1.5 sec starts 1 hr before lights on and off 1 hr before lights off. Currently 3 hrs light/CO2 in AM and 4.5 hrs of light/CO2 PM (total light cycle 7.5 hrs). It coordinates when my kids are home and I like to look at it at night.
Manzanita wood (ebay)
Seiryu Rock (ebay)
Amazonia soil

Plants:
Amazon Swords (Petco from tank)
Mini Dwarf Hairgrass (Petsmart/Top Fin cultured)
Crypt Wendtii (local fish store from a tank)
Anubias petite (LFS from a tank)
S Repens (Petsmart/Cultured)

Future plans:
Plant: considering placing Blyxa Japnoica in the central portion as a midground plant
Fish: 5-6 Celestial Pearl Danios
Cherry Red Shrimp when tank is more established

Currently: