Noob to Planted Tanks (& this forum - need advice) - The Planted Tank Forum
 1Likes
  • 2 Post By swarley

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-23-2018, 05:43 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Noob to Planted Tanks (& this forum - need advice)

Hello! I've been doing a ton of reading on this site and thought I would post to elicit some answers specific to my setup(s).

I am very new to planted tanks (and this forum), though I have always had tropical aquariums growing up. I decided to start again to use the wastewater in my gardening and succulent propagation.

I ended up purchasing THREE Fluval Chi's (without stock light or filtration) on the cheap and decided to get into planted tanks (because, lets be honest. Real plants are waaaaayyy cooler than fake).

SETUP #1 - Petco Imagitarium Frameless 3.7g (4 months old)
Lightning: stock
Filter: stock
Heater: Aqueon Preset Heater 100W
Substrate: River Rock Aquarium Pebbles/Gravel
Flora: Amazon Sword Plant
Fauna: 1 betta

**Would like to switch this to a filterless setup and the requisite fauna needed to support that**
The Sword is doing fairly well with the stock light as my apartment is fairly well lit with natural light. I think the filtration needs to be modified because I dont think the betta enjoys the flow (he has a tendency to lean against the intake).

SETUP #2 (in progress; to be more of a true planted tank) - Fluval Chi 5g
Lighting: JackSuper Adjustable Light 5w 7500K (though I read something about 2w per gallon)
Filtration: Marina Slim S10 Power Filter
Heater: Aqueon Preset Heater 100W
Flora: Java Moss, Moss balls, Dwarf Baby Tears, ....?
Fauna: (Hopefully) 6 neon tetras/Fancy Guppies, and a couple of nerite snails
Substrate: Flourite Dark, manzanita driftwood (currently soaking in bleach mixture), HD black river stones

Questions: