Fluval Flex Questions - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-19-2018, 02:49 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Fluval Flex Questions

Hello, I am new to planted aquariums. I have kept saltwater reef tanks for years, but have never kept anything freshwater. I recently (3 months ago) purchased a 9 gallon fluval flex to try the hobby out, and so far I am really enjoying it.

As of now, I just have some java fern, an ozelot sword, an amazon sword plant and 2 moss balls. All are doing surprisingly well and I have seen some pretty decent growth recently. I also have a small school of glowlight danios.

The only problem I have is the light does not include a timer. I work many days from 7-6, so a light with a timer would be ideal. I am looking into replacing the hood and keeping the tank rimless. I have seen suggestions such as the finnex fugeray and fluval eco nano, but neither have integrated timers. Does anyone have any suggestions for a mountable light with a timer that would fit my aquarium?

Also, would a CO2 system be a good idea for this setup? I have just been using liquid carbon supplementation (Excel) so far. I wouldn't mind spending some $$$ on a good nano CO2 system though, if it is recommended. However, I haven't come across any nano co2 systems with very good reviews. Should I continue with liquid carbon supplementation or upgrade to a gaseous carbon system? I do not necessarily desire more rapid plant growth, but obviously it would be nice.

Lastly, I don't know squat about aquarium plants lol. So if y'all have any suggestions as to what species would do well in my tank, please let me know. And if any of the plants (or fish) I currently have are not suitable for my aquarium, I would love to know so I can make the proper adjustments. I am still learning, so constructive criticism is welcome!

Thanks so much!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-19-2018, 10:58 AM
Algae Grower