Easy setup - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-02-2018, 05:39 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Cool Easy setup

Hi Everybody,

I've been keeping a planted tank for a couple of years already, but always started to develop troubles 4-6 months after setup. Now my tank is in a terrible state. I even think that a new kind of life might develop in there

So here I just wanted to ask for advice on how to set up a balanced aquarium with plants and fish. I already have this equipment:
  • 5G Fluval Tank
  • Canister filter
  • CO2 supply
  • Inline heater
  • Inline UV sterilizer
  • Reverse Osmosis + Softened water
  • LED light

My gravel is 3 years old and is probably depleted and full of all kinds of algae. Also have lava rocks.

I'd appreciate if you could recommend a plants + fish that would work with the small tank and the equipment I have.

Thanks in advance,
Ruben

P.S. The flow rate of the canister filter is significantly reduced by means of inline heater, sterilizer and reduced pipe diameter.

P.S.S. Also, was thinking to order the plants online. Any recommendation on that? http://www.aquariumplants.com/ ? or https://www.liveaquaria.com ?

- Ruben

Last edited by rubenhak; 03-02-2018 at 05:55 PM. Reason: added pss
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-02-2018, 06:10 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

As far as fertilization and water quality maintenance concerned I have the following:
  • Seachem Equilibrium
  • Seachem PhosGuard
  • Iron
  • Seachemn Flourish
  • Seachem Flourish excel

and some raw materials. few years back I got then mixed into two kinds of mixtures. Now dont even remember the exact purpose :
  • Potassium Nitrate
  • Potassium Sulfate
  • Monopotassium Phosphate
  • Magnesium Sulfate
  • Nutritrace CSM+B

- Ruben
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-02-2018, 07:20 PM
Planted Tank Obsessed