Lots of questions here, need some help. - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-21-2018, 07:28 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Lots of questions here, need some help.

Hello all. New user here, but have been browsing the forum for a while. The time has come for me to make the plunge into nano tank, and planted tanks. Yes, I am new to both. My track record has been with large tanks and large fish, ranging from 75 to 300 gallon tanks, Africans, south/central Americans primarily. My fish tank experience is pretty solid, having around a decade in the hobby. The extend of my planted tank experience is a cheap LED on my 75G, with a few swords and java ferns. I have learned from youtube and this forum, but figured I could make a whole thread about my journey here and ask questions as I go.

The tank. The tank will be between 10 and 15 gallons. I am trying hard to find a tank in the dimensions I want, but aside from a couple of $150+ tanks, there's not much out there. I have 23" x 12" roughly to work with, and would like to maximize that space as best as possible. I may end up building a tank unless somebody here knows of something that would fit my needs.

The filter. I will be making an in tank sump filter similar to those on the Fluval spec V tanks. I love the look and simplicity of these style filters, as well as ease of maintenance. I want zero hoses filters or heaters in the display area, so this seems a great way to do it. What I dislike about Fluval's take on the design, is their use of only 2 compartments. I feel 3 is a much more efficient use of the space, as you can have a center dedicated heater compartment, which will provide more water contact time with the heater before it is pushed back to the tank. For the low cost of a few pieces of acrylic, some silicone, some black paint to hide it all and a couple hours work, I believe it to be worth my effort to design my own filtration system.