Freshwater fishless cycling no ammonia. Help! - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-18-2018, 07:47 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Question Freshwater fishless cycling no ammonia. Help!

This is my first time as an aquarium owner. I have the 5 gal portrait marineland tank which has a filter and an overhead lamp. My tank is heavily planted with anubias and java ferns in Fluval stratum, and I also have a marimo ball and a mopani log. The water is at approx 73F and I treat it with Prime when I do water changes.

I've been trying to start the cycle in my tank for 2 weeks now. I haven't been able to find pure ammonia without surfactants, so I went down the fish flakes route. In the first few days I dropped a few flakes and the ammonia never started rising. The next day I added way too many flakes to try to build up ammonia. Needless to say they started rotting so I turkey bastered the flakes and did a 50% water change. Now I'm adding very few flakes every now and then. For two weeks, my water has contained NO ammonia! The nitrites are at 0ppm and the nitrates at about 2ppm (possibly naturally occurring). I highly doubt that I've completed the cycle since I never saw ammonia and nitrates have been at this value from day 1. I use the Api master kit.

Now the interesting bit. Since I added too many flakes at the beginning the water smells a bit moldy, but only when I stick my nose very close to it. I have a few planaria (slow, 3mm long worms on the glass) and detritus worms (longer and show up when I stir the substrate), but there is no infestation. They're certainly feeding on the remaining bits of flakes. In addition, my mopani log is having a small bacterial bloom and I've noticed a few copepods (these guys are cute!).