Not sure if the tank is cycled or not - The Planted Tank Forum
 1Likes
  • 2 Post By jstehman

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-09-2018, 05:30 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Thumbs up Not sure if the tank is cycled or not

Hell Everyone,
I am new to the hobby and have set up a 5 gallon planted tank. I have a fluval C2 filter maxed with bio media and it is planted pretty heavily with Java fern, Amazon swords,moss balls and i think hawthorne. I did a fishless cycle with pure ammonia and it worked successfully because i saw nitrates,Between 10 and 20ppm on my API master kit.Resulting in no ammonia and nitrite. After the tank was cycled i went and bought 3 dwarf corys and 5 shrimp to help clean up the algae. After a week of them being in there i than went and ordered some chili rasboras(15). Almost a week after the rasboras are in there my results are .25 ammonia, 0 nitirte, and 0 Nitrate. So im doing water changes whenever i see ammonia. Is it the plants sucking up all of the nitrates or is my tank not cycled? Also the PH is in the mid 6s. I read online that when the ph is mor acidic (below 7) it converst ammonia to ammonium which is less toxic. I think this low ph is from my driftwood,is that also true?

Thank you
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_8063.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	92.7 KB
ID:	827529  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-10-2018, 02:14 PM
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (2/100%)
You shouldn't really see ammonia if you are cycled and your bacteria colony is populated enough.

Unless there is a spike from upping your bioload.

You should see some nitrate if the process is functioning correctly. And water changes should keep the nitrates down.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

Never show anyone your true potential. If you do, they will always expect it.
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-10-2018, 09:01 PM Thread Starter