Nano Newb wanting help - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 1 (permalink) Old 01-27-2018, 04:09 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Nano Newb wanting help

So I have some experience in keeping aquariums. I currently have a 65 gallon reef setup. As a kid I had cheap freshwater setups. Recently I won a JBJ 8 gallon aquarium in a raffle at one of our local reef club meetings. It's been sitting in the basement for the last 8 months. I have no desire to setup a nano saltwater aquarium, and had no luck selling it to anyone. So I thought I would try my hand at a freshwater planted tank, because I've never had one and they look great.
Here is a link to the tank its the RL8 model. JBJ Lighting Aquarium Products
The tank come with a 10 watt light, and a return pump. I will have to buy a heater, substrate/driftwood, and plants.

I would like to do something similar to the attached bonzai tank.
I would attach java moss to the bonzai. I would like for that side of the tank to have a carpet of dwarf baby tears. With some larger rocks for added depth.

There would be a divide in the middle with a pebbled river bed.

The side opposite of the bonzai I would like to carpet with a taller grass. I was thinking staurogyne repens. To add some depth on this side I would like to add some plants with height. Perhaps water sprite, or ludwiga repens (I like the touch of color this would add).

So I guess my request is for you guys and gals with more experience in this area to tear down my build. Will this lighting and setup be able to grow a thriving nano planted tank? Do the plants I have picked out make sense, or our there better/hardier plants that I have looked over that could still provide the aesthetic I'm looking for.

I would prefer to not have to buy new lighting, as it can be very expensive(my reef lights cost a small fortune).
Is there any other equipment that I would need that isn't listed? CO2?
Attached Images

Tags
None

Quick Reply