Basic Aquascape Ideas for Shrimp Tank? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 01-20-2018, 09:25 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Basic Aquascape Ideas for Shrimp Tank?

I am starting up a tank for red cherry shrimp and I'm a real beginner aquarist.

The extent of my planted tank experience is a fully cycled 16L containing a single male betta fish. It's filled with some java ferns, java moss, and anubias on driftwood. I fertilise with Flourish occasionally and have only gravel as substrate. I use no CO2, and I have only a basic Imaginarium LED light (red, blue, and white). I'll add a photo in a moment.

I'm looking to aquascape a similarly low tech shrimp tank. I have the same 16L tank for shrimp ready. I bought goldvine driftwood for it and moved some plants from my betta tank to this one. I really want to incorporate the java moss for the shrimp fry when they start breeding. I'll add a pic soon.

I've seen lots of very nicely scaped tanks, some smaller than what I have, and I don't know how to go about doing this. I've seen Iwagumi style, moss trees, and scapes that give the illusion of a landscape with sandy paths and grassy hills, all in nano tanks too!

I'd very much like to try and achieve a similar look if possible, though I don't mind if it just turns out nicely planted with my goldvine as a centrepiece.

I'm planning on using black small gravel/sandy substrate to bring out the colour of the red in the shrimp.