Newbie with a Topfin 5.5 and questions - The Planted Tank Forum
 1Likes
  • 2 Post By FishRFriendz

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-17-2017, 04:24 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (1/100%)
Newbie with a Topfin 5.5 and questions

Hey there, so I'm just starting out, and after researching and reading a ton over the last few weeks I'm going to get into fish keeping soon with a betta. Before that happens I want to get my tank setup and cycled and wanted to seek out some direction on a few things I was trying to figure out.

Due to space constraints in the apartment I share with my family, I'm going with a low tech planted nano tank. I've picked up a used Topfin 5.5 kit through OfferUp. It was cheap and in good condition, it does have the recalled filter but I have the contact information to request a replacement from Topfin so I'm not too worried about it. I'll be getting the heater, thermometer, chemicals, testing kit, etc. over the next few weeks as well as a piece of driftwood and possibly a rock or two for the plants.

What I am concerned about are the LEDs it came with. There's three little LED bulbs affixed to the hood and I strongly doubt they will be enough to support even low light plants, so I'm looking for ideas on a couple things:
- replacement LED lights that aren't terribly expensive but will work with low light plants
- low light plant options for a small tank (so far, I'm thinking java moss, some type of anubias, and java fern.) I'm leaning more towards things which don't need to be planted in the substrate so I can avoid digging up and replanting if possible, and sand or small gravel for the substrate.

Any ideas or advice would be welcome!

Thanks,

Lauren

edit: somehow this posted in general instead of planted nano. oops.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-19-2017, 05:22 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Could a mod please move this to planted nano?
Thank you