Want to start a nano planted tank - The Planted Tank Forum
 4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 07-27-2017, 06:32 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Want to start a nano planted tank

Hi all,

Newbie here to the forum, but not to fish keeping as look after a number of nano tanks here at home. One being a 55l freshwater community tank with various nano fish, bog wood plants and mosses. This has got my interest in a small nano shrimp tank that includes plants.

I have a disused 15l tank that I would like to turn into a shrimp/planted tank. After lots of research, I have kind of become stuck on exactly where to start on things like substrate.. shrimp wise, cherry red's seem like a good stable population to keep.

My main water source is RODI due to my marine tank and mixing salt, so am looking at remineralising using something like Salty Shrimp, however, this is the bit that's confusing as it comes in two versions.. GH+ & KH/GH+

If I go for an active substrate, the information seems to indicate that it contains buffers to reduce PH etc.. so would I look at just increasing GH to match the levels required for the shrimps and the plants will be fine?

For planting, I would think a low tech tank with easy to grow rooted plants as I would like it a little more 3D that you don't seem to get with plants on bog wood etc.

Filtration wise I have a double sponge air driven on that was recommended by other shrimp keepers.

Any pointers or ideas would be greatly received:-)

Thanks,

Chris
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 07-28-2017, 01:32 AM
Algae Grower

Hey mate. Followed you over from UR

I've got planted Fluval Edge in my office - CO2, stock LED, 8 rummy nose. All good. Plants grow like buggery & unlike my Reefer, it thrives on neglect. I don't use my RO - just dechlorinated tapwater.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 07-28-2017, 08:45 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower