planning a 5 gallon tank for a dorm. all ideas welcome - The Planted Tank Forum
 1Likes
  • 2 Post By PoPoBTC

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-03-2017, 03:57 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Lightbulb planning a 5 gallon tank for a dorm. all ideas welcome

I'm currently trying to plan a 5 gallon tank to keep in my dorm room.
I'd like to keep the tank freshwater as I have no experience with salt water.

Plants have never gone well for me whenever I've tried them, I have very hard water where I live. but I'd like to try them again.
Also I'd like to have a fish or 2 but I'm unsure of which to get. I'd like something sociable with personality to interact with me but does not need a large group of other fish.
I was thinking one pea/dwarf puffer would be a cool fish. I have no problem taking time every day to feed it (frozen or live) and do water changes because I will be around the tank all the time.
I know a betta would be a good fish for the tank but I don't think its a fish I'd like to get
I will have a filter and a heater (if a heater is needed).

I am open to tips or ideas that anyone has to offer. Thank you ahead for any help
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-27-2017, 03:14 PM
Algae Grower

Ifyou like you like to add a slash of color you could do cherry shrimp with neon tetras. You will need places for the shrimp to shelter. Good luck. I hope you get lots of replies. This is a great group with lots of knowledge.
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-27-2017, 03:21 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

Quote:
Originally Posted by emmagir View Post
I'm currently trying to plan a 5 gallon tank to keep in my dorm room.
I'd like to keep the tank freshwater as I have no experience with salt water.

Plants have never gone well for me whenever I've tried them, I have very hard water where I live. but I'd like to try them again.