1 gal aquascape, many questions - The Planted Tank Forum
 1Likes
  • 2 Post By MattinAr

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-03-2017, 02:11 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Question 1 gal aquascape, many questions

Hello, I'm new to planted tanks and I have many questions. I love the examples of aquascaping I'm seen online and I'd like to try my hand at it on a really tiny scale.
I have a 1 gallon Betta tank I'd like to set as a mini aquascape. Its going to start out as only plants and hardscape. Over time I may add a few cherry shrimp and nerite snails.
So my questions are:
What are some plants that stay tiny?
How often to do water changes if only plants?
How much light? Or only low light plants?
Is co2 even a consideration in a tank this small?
Any links or help will be appreciated.
powderwt and powderwt like this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-03-2017, 02:13 PM
Algae Grower

Here to see what is suggested to you!

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk

Flugal Edge 6 gal.

Complete Newbie, go easy on me.
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-03-2017, 02:51 PM Thread Starter

powderwt Is there a link here?

post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-04-2017, 02:58 AM
Algae Grower

I have anubias nana petite and monte carlo in my 1 gal. Just threw some rotala stems in there to see what will happen. I do inject co2. And with cherry shrimp too. I got some small clip light on Amazon which has been working out. Some algae on my rocks but the plants seem clear.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-06-2017, 01:20 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (73/100%)
A 1 gal with a Betta really doesn't leave alot of room for aquascaping. Once you add the substrate, a rock/wood, some plants your looking at like 1/2 gal.