Bio Cube 14, First planted tank - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-03-2017, 12:48 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Bio Cube 14, First planted tank

Hi all,

I'm new to planted tanks and am going to set up my BC 14 as a planted tank and would love some advice. I've been reading a lot about substrates and dirted tanks and decided to use Turface MVP as a substrate with some Osmocote plus underneath it. The plants I'm looking at getting are some anubias, dwarf sag, hornwort, java fern, and maybe some bacopa, amazon swards, and jungle vals. I have a Betta I'm putting in and want to get some shoaling fish like neon tetras, and a cory or two. I modified the filter on the BC 14 when I had it set up as a reef tank and opened up the overflow from chamber 1 into chamber 2. I'm planning on putting some floss on the tray over chamber 2 as a mechanical filter and remove the bio balls. I'm also removing the large filter pad at the bottom of chamber 2/3. I also want to replace the actinic compact florescent and the 10K compact florescent and replace them with 6500K compact florescent but can't seem to find any.

I need to get some new test kits. Besides test kits for ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, pH, carbonate hardness, and general hardness, what other test kits would you recommend? For fertilizes I think I'll start with Seachem Flourish.

Any recommendations or advice to get me off to a good start would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Chris
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-07-2017, 12:05 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast