Soon to start my first planted tank, advice wanted. - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-08-2010, 09:37 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Talking Soon to start my first planted tank, advice wanted.

hello, ive been keeping saltwater tanks for a few years now and for my next tank i wanted to try something different. so i will be starting a freshwater planted nano with a few small fish and easy to keep plants.
Right now all i have is the tank, its a standard 10gl.

Heres what im thinking for the setup, 3in of black flourite, a hang on power filter for water movement and to keep the heater in. But as for the light im realy not sure. im used to saltwater so i want as much power as i can get but i understand that more light requires Co2 and i only plan to dose excel. So my first real question is what light to get, heres a rough stocking list so you know what i plan to keep.

a Dwarf hairgrass lawn will take up most of the space in front.
In the mid-section i plan to have a large peice of driftwood coverd in java moss.
Dwarf anubis in the foreground.
Needle spike rush near the back. Baby tears in the back.
java fern.
Bacopa monnieri.
And stargrass to cover the back panel.

ive looked them up and the ones ive listed seem to be fairly easy to keep but im sure somone will chime in. As for fish i would like a small (6-7) school of ember tetras, one stand alone show fish maybe a fancy male guppy? and a small cory or two, But the one thing i know i must have is a small group of red cherry shrimp, if i need to drop anything to make that happen ill do it.

Ok have at it, ill post picks after i get somthing in the tank, hope it all goes well.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-08-2010, 11:02 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower