My UGwagumi nano - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-05-2010, 09:41 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (5/100%)
My UGwagumi nano

This is my first time working with UG I'm just concerned it might be too tall for my hardscape. what do think? I plan to grow the UG emersed for about a month before filling the tank. I hope I can hold out!

Any opinions on the hardscape would also be appreciated as this is only my second attempt at Iwagumi

Last edited by DBLSHOT; 06-20-2010 at 10:48 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-05-2010, 10:58 AM
Planted Member

PTrader: (3/100%)
Maybe a little more soil mounding between the rocks. So it looks more like 1 big rock thats coming out of the ground, rather than 3 smaller rocks laying next to each other.

But etheir way it looks really nice as is.
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-06-2010, 09:37 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

I did think about adding more soil between the rocks but I was worried once the UG grows out it would hide too much of the hard scape.

its been a few days and I'm noticing some of the UG near the lower right part of the tank seems to be melting. should I be concerned? The water level in that area is around 1/2 inch above the soil.

post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-06-2010, 09:54 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (114/100%)
You might want to try to let the water level drop down to the substrate in that area. If this is fresh aquasoil or something similar any standing water is going to get a blast of ammonia for a bit.
At the same time UG is kinda finicky at least in my experience. The first portion I bought had some meltdown as it adjusted to the tank but it eventually established and made a full comeback.

Edit: Nice tank. If you can get it growing super tight and short the rock in the right front should stay visible. Otherwise that one might only pop out after trimmings. The rest should be ok.