First Iwagumi Tank - 2.78 G - The Planted Tank Forum
 12Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 34 (permalink) Old 10-26-2016, 12:50 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
First Iwagumi Tank - 2.78 G

Already posted this in the aquascaping subforum but I thought I'd add it here too.
This is my first time doing an Iwagumi tank and it's been set up for about 1 month. Substrate is Marfied Controsoil. I'm running DIY CO2 with EI dosing and an ISTA LED fixture with 4x 3w CREE LEDs in it, running something like 8 hours a day. It is a fire red shrimp only tank. Please don't mind the floaters and equipment as a lot of that is temporary. Sorry for the off center pic, I just took it with my phone. Oh, and don't mind the flamboyant "sunset" background - I plan on changing that to a sky blue gradient as soon the carpet grows in.
Anyway, hope you guys like it. Would you guys add anything to this tank? Was thinking about some Blyxa in the back or some Stauro between the rocks, but part of me just kinda wants to keep it simple.
Current plants: Monte carlo, Anubias nana petite, frogbit, water lettuce (floaters are temporary).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20161026_083144.jpg
Views:	298
Size:	122.3 KB
ID:	683929  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 34 (permalink) Old 10-26-2016, 01:21 AM
Algae Grower

This is a very impressive tank! I thought it was 5-10 gallons at first; I was very surprised when I realized it was only 2.8.

(I'm also jealous of your shrimp's color)

If you're looking for things we would add, this is what I think:
- Staurogyne repens peeking out from behind the rocks on the left and middle would look really nice IMO.
- If you're up to it, moving the hardscape a few inches to the right would move the focal point to the right in compliance with the rule of thirds (golden ratio). Sloping the substrate more would be a nice touch as well.