New to the nano world, 1 Gallon plan - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-10-2010, 02:15 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
New to the nano world, 1 Gallon plan

Hey everyone, I'm new to the miniature tank world, and in fact pretty much new to aquariums in general.

I have had one 10 gallon tank set up for about 2 months with three small goldfish that seem to be doing extremely well, but are being moved into a 55 gallon tank I am still setting up regardless, and I have this 1 gallon tank that started it all that's just so lonely.

I will be getting malaysian trumpet snails, java fern, and java moss, all to start the 55 gallon tank, and I wanted to take a small amount of each for the 1 gallon tank.

It will have the same playsand as my 55 gallon for the substrate, and I planned on possibly covering the back wall of the tank with java moss, planting some java fern around it, and maybe a couple small rocks.

The tank is an Aquaview 1 gallon, and if anyone has had one, it is a triangle, but the back wall is pushed back, so there are two small extra walls about 2 inches wide. I figured I could put a small sponge filter on one of these walls, and a small airstone or bubble stick on the other.

I would ideally like to have this tank house both the malaysian trumpet snails, and a few cherry red shrimp, or possibly glass, but it seemed like cherry reds would be easiest to breed and keep healthy.

I will also be using my fully cycles 10 gallon tank to house shrimp, and possibly some tetras or something else, along with plants once I move the goldfish into the 55 gallon tank, so I figure I will be able to split up the population of shrimp just fine between the two tanks for them, and feeding them to the goldfish in an attempt to have shrimp populating that tank as well.