24" 20 litre shrimp tank - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-07-2010, 03:10 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Smile 24" 20 litre shrimp tank

I went out and bought my new tank today. It's a 24" x 8" x 8" Clearseal tank and I'm planning to keep shrimp in it.

I'll be needing a new hood or a hang on light/canopy with a condensation tray since the included hood is useless.

Gonna be getting some fertiliser/substrate over the next couple of days and then start adding some plants and water!

I'm still in need of a filter and lighting. I'm not big on sponge filters, I'd rather go with a U1. Also I don't know whether to go with a clip on arcadia light (or two) or one of the Glo canopies (Glo T5 Linear Double Light System).
I'm more set on the T5 but it's pretty expensive and I'm a student so I don't really know if I can afford it.

Any suggestions?

Currently setting up my 20 Litre Shrimp Tank
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-08-2010, 01:42 AM
Algae Grower

welcome

that is an interesting size tank. Ive been thinking about setting up something similar along the lines of 36 inches...and much like you, the major hang-up is the lighting.when the time comes to seriously consider putting the tank together I will likely start a thread in the lighting forum. something that needs to be considered is the shallow depth of your tank, you don't wanna have too much light. Such can lead to algae problems.

anyway, I'm sure someone with more knowledge will chime in with specifics. and if all else fails try the lighting forum.

either way, welcome to TPT, you'll find lots of nice people and good advice here.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-08-2010, 02:29 AM
Wannabe Guru