2.5 gallon planted lowtech nano - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-22-2010, 10:49 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
2.5 gallon planted lowtech nano

Hey, I'm new here and I'm also new at fish tanks and fish. I am great with amphibs but not so good with fish. I need lots of help here I was going for a 2.5 gallon planted low tech tank. I need help with the stock and plants. I also need help on lighting. I don't plan on using a filter but having a low population of fish.

Can anyone help?

My Tanks

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-22-2010, 11:01 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Help?

My Tanks

post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-22-2010, 11:46 PM

PTrader: (3/100%)
12 minutes between bumps is quite short of a time.

For a low tech 2.5g nano, I would suggest perhaps a single 13W bulb. That should give low enough lighting that you can grow some plants without having to worry too much about CO2, fertilizers, etc.

In terms of plants, the standard low light plants will work; just be sure to choose the ones that stay smaller (i.e. Anubias barteri var. 'nana' Petite, mosses, Cryptocoryne parva, etc).

Without a filter, and also considering the size of the tank, I would not recommend any fish be placed into the aquarium.

Anthony

and

Eheim Pimp #362 - Eheim 2213 x2, Eheim 2028, Eheim 2217, Eheim surface skimmer and Eheim autofeeder.
Victor Pimp #33 - HPT272-125-350-4M

post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-22-2010, 11:47 PM
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (2/100%)
What type of light u going to get?
it should be less than 20 W IMO.

for plants. get easy plants like java moss, java fern, Maybe a banana plant. marino moss balls etc.