Looking for Advice - 5 Gallon - The Planted Tank Forum
 1Likes
  • 2 Post By OVT

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-08-2016, 02:02 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Looking for Advice - 5 Gallon

Lurked around here forever, first post.

So I have an empty 5 gallon tank. I want to make it into a decent looking planted tank. I am a college student, so Low Tech is a necessity. No money or space for CO2 systems. I have a mystery snail in a 1.5 gallon bowl with an anubias and an amazon sword which will all be transferred to the new tank. Eventually I want a male betta fish in there. Thats it for creatures. So there will be a filter and heater on the tank. Oh and lighting is a 13w daylight CFL for now.

After looking at other people's setups (yes I do my research), I love having a stone centerpiece, not a piece of driftwood. Personal preference.

Anyway, I am having a rough time picking a substrate for this tank. I was thinking either pool filter sand, black diamond, or gravel. What would you guys recommend? It will have to be moved a limited amount to get to college in the fall and whatnot, so I want something that wont like destroy the water when traveling.

Also any suggestions on plants that will go good for my conditions will be helpful. I like things that are hard to kill, and not super rare. (cause rare = expensive)

~hi452
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-08-2016, 03:59 AM
OVT
Carpe Diem

PTrader: (144/100%)
I am really happy with my 5g cylinder vase under a single CFL. Sand substrate with lava rock and Java Fern that overtook the tank after 2 years. Really low tech and almost 0 maintenance. Had to move the tank 150 mi a week ago - it did not skip a beat.

https://www.plantedtank.net/forums/22...te-w-pics.html
Opare and Opare like this.

Last edited by OVT; 05-08-2016 at 04:04 AM. Reason: link
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-09-2016, 02:09 AM
Wannabe Guru