6Likes
  • 2 Post By BrynnaCC
  • 2 Post By frenchie1001
  • 7 Post By James M

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-17-2016, 10:27 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Walstad Unfiltered Nano

So I'm new to this planted tank thing still. I got into because I worked for my LFS and knew nothing about it so I decided I'd convert my tank to a planted tank so that I can learn as I go. Well now I'm wanting to do a desktop planted tank. But I want to go filterless. No wires going in or out. Just a glass box of nature. I built a 12X12X12 cube. I'm thinking organic soil, capped with sand or flora max. And I'm going to run a par 38 led bulb for lighting. Possibly no fish but I do want shrimp. Tips and thoughts. Also like the thought of the bonsai look with a carpet all around. Thinking phoenix moss for the "leaves". And maybe micro swords for the carpet.

Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-17-2016, 11:46 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

Are you going for MTS? The organic matter is not what you completely want in your tank as the decomposition sends things a bit nuts and the potential for fertilisers etc. If you haven't already, have a flick through some of the builds on the forum and see what others have done to create a shall we say "minimalist" tank composition. Plants do need to be kept at a certain temperature to thrive also, I believe it allows them to take up nutrients easier.
Considered creating a false back perhaps to try create a feel as though there isn't any equipment, its just hidden?
Either way I hope it all goes well! Put up some pictures also, the people love the pics hahah. Good luck
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-18-2016, 12:10 AM
Planted Member

PTrader: (8/100%)