DIY CO2 Bubble pre min - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-26-2010, 03:56 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
DIY CO2 Bubble pre min

I just set up a sugar and yeast CO2 setup with a glass diffuser in my 5 gallon tank. I'm getting around 5 bubbles per min. Does that sound good? This is my first time dealing with CO2. last time I checked my ph was around 7.8 and my kh was 5
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-26-2010, 05:07 AM

PTrader: (3/100%)
It's a bit slow, but it will probably start to ramp up within a day or two.

How much sugar and yeast did you put into it?

Anthony

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Eheim Pimp #362 - Eheim 2213 x2, Eheim 2028, Eheim 2217, Eheim surface skimmer and Eheim autofeeder.
Victor Pimp #33 - HPT272-125-350-4M
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-26-2010, 06:07 AM
Planted Member

PTrader: (3/100%)
i allways had trouble using ceramic glass diffusers with DIY co2.

It takes so much pressure to push air thru the ceramic disk that I had terrible leaks every where.

So if you just poked a hole and pushed the air line into a plastic bottle I bet you may have the same thing going on. I finally fixed mine by using a screw in fitting that I got at a auto parts store. 1/8" npt male to 1/8" barb was the name/style.

5 per minute does sound low but DIY starts out slow for a few days ,and ramps up over the next week or so. It hits its maximum output and stays there for a week or so and then starts ramping down. Sort of like a wave of co2.

post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-26-2010, 12:22 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (18/100%)
My DIY CO2 gets going at about 1 bubble per secound only after 5-10 mins. So I would say that 5 bubbles per min is really slow.