Real plants? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-22-2010, 08:40 PM Thread Starter
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (4/100%)
Real plants?

I told a friend of mine that I was thinking about purchasing a 6-gallon Nano Cube and trying to grow real plants. He said I would regret it. He claims growing plants is very difficult and time-consuming and that they'll leave my tank looking horrible. Is that true?

Keep in mind that although I've had aquariums before, even a Marine aquarium, I have no experience with real plants. As a newbie, should I attempt this? If so, in addition the the Nano Cube, what else do I need to purchase to ensure I don't fail?

Thanks,
Kelly
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-22-2010, 08:51 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (10/100%)
Your friend is wrong in my opinion. A good number of plants are very easy to grow, Java Fern, Anubias, Java moss, Crypts, Hornwort, and many others can all thrive with some lighting and a little fertilizers. When I made the switch from plastic to live plants, I had some trouble in the begining do to lack of knowledge, but now I cant believe that that people still use fake plants! Live plants do make more of a mess, but they are 100% worth it. Just do some research before you start! Your equipment all depends of what plants you want to keep, and if you have a budget.
Jake

"My next hobby is going to be tearing up $100 bills while simultaneously banging my head against a wall and flooding my basement."
"Ask not what the hobby can do for you, but what you can do the the hobby" - ScapeFu

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Wabi-Kusa Pimp #3
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-22-2010, 08:56 PM Thread Starter
Wannabe Guru