Total newbie question - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-13-2010, 12:54 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (1/100%)
Total newbie question

Hi all! I've been spending the last couple weeks browsing this forum, and am in awe of all I've seen! But I'm also totally overwhelmed and I'm starting to completely overthink my original simple plan.

I currently have a little 3.5g tank that houses guppy fry and a new apple snail. It was set up in a bit of a hurry, and is super ugly. Its been running about 6wks now. It has an air pump, and I'm planning on getting a sponge filter this weekend, and I just added a mini heater. There are fake plants floating on top and a rock/fake plant thing. The bottom is a mix of larger gravel and glass beads. Oh and there is a rigged light on the top that gives off a bit of heat, not sure on the wattage.

I'd like to remove the fake plants and fake rock/plant thingy and have real plants for the guppy fry to hide in and hopefully find some nutrition too (and I've been learning that a sponge filter will also provide them with some healthy bacteria to eat). Right now the water is a tad dingy too, hopefully some plants will help?

In looking around, Java moss and Java fern keep popping up. They seem to be fairly hardy, low light tolerant and apparently guppy fry like them. Can I just remove the fake stuff, and pop these in? To have a few little plants like this do I need to worry about CO2 and ferts and substrate etc? Ideally I'd love to totally remove the fry, and change out the ugly bead/gravel for some sand and add in some old snail shells I have.

Should I just pop the fish in a bucket with all the water, clean out the tank, put in all the new stuff and add the water/fish back?