Newbie, found gross pink stuff - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 02-11-2010, 03:34 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Exclamation Newbie, found gross pink stuff

Newbie here, first post, first fish. I got a betta on the 8th, and hastily set everything up. Tetra Water Wonders 1.5G tank kit, Whisper filter, LED lamp, couple fake plants, and pieces of Java fern and beach glass that I added. Didn't let the tank cycle properly before putting the fish in, but did daily water changes. Using room temp Brita filtered water, Nutrafin Betta Plus tap water conditioner and bowl cleaner. There are probably a lot of other things I have done incorrectly here. So I have a problem. Today I noticed my fish having some trouble in the back corner where he likes to chill. I thought maybe there were too many things crowding him in, and I moved a piece of Java fern so that he had more room. After moving the piece of fern, I noticed what looks like pink fiberglass insulation growing on a piece of gravel.

I tried not to disturb the junk too much while I removed it, but I noticed it floating around other parts of the tank, so it might have been growing throughout all the gravel. So I freaked out and removed my fish and emptied the tank, and I plan on really scouring all the gravel, and unattaching my piece of Java fern from the piece of beach glass I tied it to. I'm afraid maybe the glass is the culprit here. I'm absolutely terrified. I really love my fish and I don't want him to be in any danger. What do I do? I'm sorry if this is in the wrong place.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 24 (permalink) Old 02-11-2010, 11:41 PM

PTrader: (3/100%)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Milq View Post
Didn't let the tank cycle properly before putting the fish in, but did daily water changes.
I assume you are still doing daily water changes, as an ammonia spike could kill your Betta rather quickly.

Quote: