Newbie Needs Help - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-28-2016, 04:49 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Newbie Needs Help

Hi All,

I'm a newbie to posting, but I've used the Planted Tank as my guide to set up my tank a couple years ago. I have a Fluval Spec V with a Nerite Snail, Mystery Snail and 7 mature (no longer egg laying) female RCS.

I recently had the original Fluval light burn out and decided it was time to do a reboot of the tank. I replaced the substrate with CaribSea Eco Complete, A Marimo Moss Ball, Cryptocoryne, Bacopa. I purchased a Finnex Stingray aquarium light as well as replacing all the filter materials.

I cycled/primed the tank with the plants in and I've done a 20% water change once a month, water tests great. I leave the lights on (timer) for 10 hours a day and feed once every few days. The shrimp/snails seem to be doing great. The plants, however, are not doing so well. They are turning a little brown and they are bubbling quite a bit. I'm also noticing more algae on the sides (there was never any before the reboot).

Any suggestions on changes I should try?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-28-2016, 07:10 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (35/100%)
I guess the Stingray is a lot stronger than the stock lighting. Set it for 6 hours a day and you need to fertilize the plants with the basic iron and potassium fertilizer now. I'd also either buy some floating plants or shade the top of the tank with window screen mesh until the plants perk up and the algae growth slows down.

Wipe down the tank to get rid of those diatoms. You could try dusting off your plants then doing a water change to get some out of the tank. Otos are champion diatom eaters if you want to have a couple fish with your elderly shrimp ladies or let the tiny snails that probably hitch hiked on the plants stay.