first planted tank - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-22-2016, 03:15 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
first planted tank

Hey guys, decided to try out this hobby with a Fluval Spec 2 gallon tank. I added a 10w mini heater. Plants that I decided to go with were a few anubias and a java fern. Currently there are 2 goldfin tetra's in there as well. I am not planning on introducing anything else until the tank goes through its "cycle" which it seems to be doing now; the water turned slightly murky after about a day. Planning to keep this a low-tech tank as it is my first tank and I am a beginner to the hobby all together. I guess I am posting this to ask for any tips/helpful hints.

Is my well water fine? I use prime dechlorinator
Anything I should be looking out for?

Thanks guys!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-22-2016, 03:30 PM
Wannabe Guru

Hey tamdan93,

welcome to the forum and congrats on the new tank. Made sure the rhizome of the anubias and the javafern and not burried in the substrate. Consider 50% waterchanges 2 times a week for the first 2 weeks. Also, aim for a lights on period of 6h at the start.

Water well can work but can also have higher nitrates or metal levels. I would not worry very much about it.

And read a lot, be critical of what you read, filter what you learn.

All the best

On hiatus till later this year
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-22-2016, 03:32 PM Thread Starter

Thanks for the info! The rhizome is the stem part of the plant correct? I'll make sure to check those tonight and dig them out a bit if they are buried.

post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-22-2016, 03:51 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (3/100%)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tamdan93 View Post
Thanks for the info! The rhizome is the stem part of the plant correct? I'll make sure to check those tonight and dig them out a bit if they are buried.