1Likes
  • 2 Post By lksdrinker

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-17-2015, 06:43 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (21/100%)
How long can my tetra go without food?

Hi!

I'm a college student and currently have a cardinal tetra and 3 otos in a 5.5 gallon relatively heavily planted aquarium. As of tomorrow, I will be leaving to head back home for winter break, which will last approximately four weeks. I used to have 6 other cardinals in here but they all died off within the first week after bringing them in from the store some months ago as juveniles. Unfortunately, the nearest store isnt that close so this guy has been making due in his lonesome for a few months now. With that said, I was wondering what his chances are of making it through the break without being fed. I plan to slightly overfeed right before leaving, in addition to leaving two cucumber slices for the otos. Additionally, I have an incredibly dense java moss foreground that I've found to have several ~5mm macroinvertebrates which seem to have thrived since the tank has been set up, in addition to some microscopic worms which seem to flick about in the water column whenever they are disturbed after I pour in water from a water change. I was hoping that all of this in tandem might serve the tetra well as a food source until I get back. Additionally, the tank temp is at 76' consistently, so I figured the slightly slower metabolic function of the tetra might give it a fighting chance as well (as opposed to keeping it at 82' or so).

Anyways, I'm sure it's most likely anyone's guess as to the little guy's chances, but I just wanted to see if there's any more informed comments that you guys might have, as an automatic feeder is unfortunately out of the question...

Thanks so much

Ehfipimp #340!!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(2215)