• 1 Post By ichthyogeek
  • 1 Post By Greggz
  • 1 Post By frogger17

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-01-2020, 05:54 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Questions about Breeding Rainbows

I have 6 rainbows, male and female Australian, 2 pure male Praecox, 1 pure female Praecox, and 1 female possibly hybrid Praecox. I think it's a hybrid because the trailing end of both the top and bottom fins are elongated and pointed, rather than tapering close to the body, as typical for Praecox. I'm not an expert, so maybe I don't know that Praecox do come with this type of fin.

A week ago I watched the Australian pair breed in the community tank, which came as a surprise to me. I don't intend to breed this species, so there was no mop and no suitable plants in the community tank. The female scattered her eggs, which were quickly gobbled up by both the parents and the other fish.

I also don't intend to breed the possibly hybrid Praecox, at this time. She and the smaller male Praecox also bred in the community tank and the eggs were scattered.

I did want to breed the larger male Praecox with the pure female Praecox, so I moved all the other fish into a new community tank last Saturday. Monday I put a mop in the tank and removed filter material for an HOB that I was going to use for a separate fry tank. To my surprise, a day later I was handling the filter material and found a couple of eggs sticking to my fingers. Unfortunately, I don't know how old they are, so I don't know which of the females they came from and won't try to save these.

The male is obviously trying to get the female to mate. He flashes and pursues her around the tank. She keeps swimming away. I don't see any eggs in the mop.

Here are my questions: