Mycobacteriosis outbreak Rainbowfish - The Planted Tank Forum
 26Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 30 (permalink) Old 09-10-2020, 01:42 AM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (0/0%)
Question Mycobacteriosis outbreak Rainbowfish

Hi! I’ve been keeping RainbowFish for about four years. I got them all from a very reputable breeder. They were varied (his leftover breeders from the previous year), adult, and lovely.

About two years in, my fish started to develop a disease of some kind. I treated the whole tank with a general fungus med (can’t remember the name now) and some of the totally recovered, but especially the Boesemani males developed what at first looked like a few missing scales, then open sores, and then almost tumors.

Unfortunately, I don’t have a picture. And recently, I tore down the whole tank, rinsed ALL the black blasting sand, put it back in the tank, and put my remaining fish in, only to get an ich breakout. ������ Lost 7 fish.

This was then followed by a huge algae bloom. But now, in the crystal clear water thanks to a UV sterilizer (which I’m still running) I seem to see the telltale missing scales on one side of my remaining Boesmani male.

Not too recently, someone posted pictures that looked a lot like my poor sick fish of yore when their disease was at its height. I think it was Gary Lange who came on and said it was Tuberculosis, and to cull immediately.

SO: my questions today were these: IF it’s Tuberculosis, where did it come from and where does it lodge itself? Is it genetic? Passed fish to fish? Resident in the water column? Carried by germs in the plants (all new, from other vendors, except one crypt that was in there for awhile, but I took out a month ago)?

I got a response on a FB group devoted to Rainbows to read a 24- page long, technical, but very informative article on mycobacterium and the show seemed to fit, and also presented a hopeless scenario. https://lookaside.fbsbx.com/file/Myc...Fn2YpYmxknbnCw