New fish death rate... normal? - The Planted Tank Forum
 16Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 06-07-2020, 05:28 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
New fish death rate... normal?

Hi Everyone -

This week and last I've been stocking my 55gal planted aquarium. I've kept many fish over the years and am used to the occasional death when adding new fish, but I feel like I've been experiencing a lot of die off this time around. Admittedly, this is my first time keeping all of these species (except Otos), as well as my first having large quantities of fish shipped (LFS around me aren't great and COVID...). I've been working on getting this aquarium set up for two years and have been looking forward to having rummynose and Rams for 5+ years, so it's really disheartening to see new dead fish every time I look at the aquarium...

Before considering replacing the fish, I want to get to the root cause. Here's what I'm wondering:
1. Are there improvements I should make to my aquarium or acclimation procedure for next time?
2. Are these fish truly this sensitive to new water and it should be expected?
3. Is this normal when having fish shipped?
4. Does this supplier ship notoriously poor-quality fish?

Details below:

Tank notes:
1. KH = 3, GH = 5, TDS = 118, temp = 77F (25C), Ph = ~7.0
2. Ammonia = 0, Nitrite = 0, Nitrate = 20
3. Maintenance: 50% weekly water change 50% RO, 50% Tap
4. Equipment: Eheim 2215 canister filter, Hydor 425 powerhead
5. Age: six weeks old, seeded from another tank. Stopped showing any ammonia or nitrites at week three
6. Planted, dirted with pool filer sand cap, no CO2, Tom Barr's Non-CO2 Method weekly
7. About two weeks ago, amazon chain sword started dying off unexpectedly and possible contamination from dishwasher detergent (week before any fish were added, water changes since)