• 1 Post By Brothermist
  • 1 Post By forksnbolts
  • 1 Post By f1sleepy

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-24-2020, 02:30 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Fish for Cory population control?

I love my corydoras but their numbers are getting out of hand. I do not know what type of Cory they are. I was sold them as true Julii Corydoras but I did not know if that is true. I'm still very new to this hobby. They could be false Julii, I have no idea.

Anyway, my tank is a 40 breeder (Co2 injected and High light) planted, not a crazy amount of plants but more then a few. That makes getting the eggs out about impossible as I simply can not find them all. I pull out what I can see but the numbers keep climbing. I do nothing to care for or feed the fry, and I never have. They just thrive. There are 8 adults. 50ish juveniles of varying size and about 20 newborn fry right now. New eggs show up weekly.

I'd like to know what type of fish I could add to the tank that would eat the eggs and the smallest fry/wigglers.

I am quite over filtered, running two SunSun 704B's and I do weekly 70% water changes.
Co2 is a custom dual stage on a 5lb tank. Injected in-line with a DIY PVC reactor to avoid 7-UP water.
Lights are two 36" Finnex Planted+ CRV's
PAR @ 90ish at substrate says my Seneye Reef.
Dosed daily with NilocG Thrive+
DIY root tabs as needed
BDBS (Black Diamond Blasting Sand) substrate. (Corydoras have been on this sand since day 1 with NO damage to barbels)

The only other fish in this tank are 2 male Guppies (they killed the others) and 4 ottos.
Misc. pest snails that I got on some plants but don't mind.

I'll attach a link to a short video (most Corys are hiding).

Also, I know I have some algae in the tank. This is only my 2nd real planted tank. My first was a Fluval that was only running a few months before it cracked and was replaced with this 40B. I'm still very much a noob and still slowly learning.