• 1 Post By Desperado070
  • 1 Post By edustarling
  • 1 Post By butchblack

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-13-2020, 03:02 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Question Question about hot weather

I'm new to fish-keeping and was wondering if I'm gonna need a air conditioner for in the summer.
At the moment I only have guppies and have them at 25. (77F)
What if there is a heatwave in the summer and temperatures rise to 30 (86F) - 35 (95F).
Have to add I'm from the Netherlands so it wil only reach those temperatures in the early evening/night and then cool off again.

Just to keep myself out of stress from what for sure wil come later on.
Is an air conditioner a must or do fish survive these temperatures easily "if" it doesn't last to long?
What do experienced fish-keepers say about this?

(Air conditioners are much cheaper than a water cooler special made for the aquariums o.0' )
(We are talking about 3 x 12 gallon, soon or later a 60 gallon, but with room temp gallon doesn't really matter, it wil get there anyway)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-13-2020, 03:38 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

Assume they have lids, if they do you can prop the lids open and evaporation will help cool them some. Strategically placed fans help as well. Hardly anyone has AC units over her in WA state (US) and we get about 3-5 weeks of hot weather in summer. My tanks will get to about 85-87F during the day during the warm spells. Have not had an issue that I am aware of. I will prop the lids up and be sure to not miss my weekly water changes.

Be mindful of the evaporation when its warmer.
Just my experience.
deeda, butchblack and Desperado070 like this.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-13-2020, 07:55 PM
Planted Member