• 1 Post By Discusluv
  • 1 Post By varanidguy
  • 1 Post By schooldazed

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-05-2019, 02:22 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
L'il Angels

I've been growing out these angels for two months now to eventually go into my disply tank. They were dime/nickel body size when I first got them - maybe four to six weeks old? Would say they are a little bigger than quarter size now. They are in a ten gallon tank with pool filter sand, sponge filter, heater, some wisteria, and a dozen or so ramshorns. I do 80+% water changes twice a week. No sign of ammonia so far but at yesterday's water change there was a surprising amount of fish waste. May need to start changing water every other day. But even if I can continue to extend the time I can keep their water clean, at some point their quarters will be cramped to the point of stunting. I currently feed them five times a day more or less. They see me coming and go crazy in anticipation any time I feed. They are real little piggies. There is no way I could continue that feeding schedule in the display tank without it crashing. So therein lies my dilemma; when should I move these lovelies to my main tank? Opinions and insights would be greatly appreciated.
varanidguy and united natures like this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-05-2019, 04:24 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (4/100%)
8 Angels in a 10 gallon tank at quarter size is getting into territory where stunting or extreme aggression due to lack of space can occur.
I would put them in your display tank or get a larger ( a 30 gallon would work out well here) tank to continue growing them out in. They will grow better--more to their potential, have more space to establish territories and lessen con-specific aggression, and you will have far more room for error in terms of water quality.