3Likes
  • 2 Post By melty
  • 1 Post By Rnasty

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-05-2018, 09:37 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Very simple question...

I feel like spearheading this question on this forum will save me a lot of time and research...

I will have a 9 gallon planted tank no CO2 with shrimp and snails involved.

What are my choices for fish and in what QTY?

I've been recommended to stay with the below by (what seemed like) a knowledgeable fish store employee:

Guppys
Tetra (how many of these bad boys can I put in my tank?)
Dannios

I've defaulted to neon tetras but if I can stock my tank with something a little more special (Gourami) I'd like to start thinking about that option...

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-05-2018, 10:16 PM
Algae Grower

I have limited experience, so grain of salt - but a 9 gallon should be suitable for a small group of Sparkling Gourami (4 or 5 max) OR up to 3 Honey Gourami (1 male, 2 females max).

Neon Tetras are pretty active - most recommend 15-20 gallon tanks for them at minimum, because they need extra room to swim.
If you're drawn to Neons for their size and color, I'd recommend looking into microrasbora like Chili Rasbora, Sundadanio Axelrodi, or Kubotai Rasbora as alternatives. They're all vividly colored and can be kept in groups of 6+ in tanks your size with non-aggressive tankmates. My 10 gallon currently has a single female Honey Gourami, a shoal of Chili Rasbora, and a colony of dwarf shrimp, and they all coexist pretty peacefully.
RCB and Julip like this.
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-05-2018, 10:51 PM
Planted Member

You've got a lot of options!

A Betta
Pea puffer
Group of microrasboras
any kind of shrimp
Guppies
endlers
certain tetras
certain gouramis
scarlet badis
certain killifish

I'm sure there are more that I'm not thinking of