Electric Blue German Rams Fight, Then Hang Out Together? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-29-2018, 06:09 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
I just picked up a couple of electric blue german rams the other day. Got one, then went back and got another the next day. I have no experience with them, so I kind of just guessed the sexes and tried to get a male and a female. Seeing them together now though, they look about the same lol.

Anyway, they totally ignored each other the first day. Then my wife sent me a video of them fighting while I was at work the next day. Just circling each other and rubbing up against each other. Some lip locking, nipping, and chasing. I came home after work expecting the worst, but they were actually hanging out with each other. They hung out together for a few hours, then did a less intense scrap again. A few minutes later, they were hanging out again. After I turned the lights off, they went after each other again for a bit. What's going on here? Are they just feeling each other out and deciding who the boss is? I'm pretty sure they are both males, but I wouldn't expect them to hang out together peacefully if that's the case.

I tried to upload the video to youtube to share here, but it's just sitting there and refusing to upload.

Managed to get it to upload.

https://youtu.be/uJbCpRQ5N-s

fish

Last edited by Darkblade48; 03-31-2018 at 08:00 AM. Reason: Please use the edit function for back to back posts to keep threads cleaner
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-29-2018, 06:49 PM
Planted Member

How big is your aquarium?
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-29-2018, 06:55 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

38 gallons.

fish

post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-29-2018, 08:05 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (4/100%)
I'm not saying its definite, but ...