DIY CO2 with apple juice - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 12-30-2009, 09:11 PM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (4/100%)
DIY CO2 with apple juice

Wondered if anyone else has done this? I also brew beer, mead, and cider so I am quite familiar with yeast. One of the basic cider recipes is using frozen apple juice concentrate and yeast to make a cider. Apple juice concentrate is very inexpensive and generally the cider produces CO2 in my carboys for 1.5-2 months.

I'm just getting into the planted tank hobby, but I think this may be one of the best ways to make DIY CO2. I foresee apple juice producing CO2 much longer than sugar water or jello because it contains a variety of sugars: sucrose, glucose, fructose, and sorbitol... which generally take longer.

Thoughts? I may give it a try.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 12-30-2009, 09:32 PM

PTrader: (2/100%)
I have no input, but please report back. Im hoping Ill be as good at this as 'land gardening', and if so Ill be needing CO2 before I know it.

Good luck
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 12-30-2009, 10:05 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (1/100%)
so are you just taking one can of the once thawed out apple syrup concentrate and adding some yeast?

any water?

one can to how much yeast?

sounds interesting im always down to try somethin new

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

SunSun Pimp #2
Fluval Ebi Pimp #4

post #4 of 19 (permalink) Old 12-30-2009, 10:13 PM Thread Starter
Planted Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigboij View Post
so are you just taking one can of the once thawed out apple syrup concentrate and adding some yeast?

any water?

one can to how much yeast?

sounds interesting im always down to try somethin new