1Likes
  • 2 Post By Beer

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-16-2016, 12:46 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Question on strength of glass for 115G

Hey guys,

Last summer I picked up some glass from a guy off craigslist. Basically it is a disassembled tank with a volume of around 115 gallons. It's been sitting in my shed since. I am planning on doing some work in the garage this weekend, one part of that is building some shelving across the entire side of the garage, and Ive just incorporated a stand for what would be my tank.

Anyway I really want to get the ball rolling on this tank, and I also want it to be an entirely DIY project, with the except of a heater.

I start with a couple questions regarding building the tank itself. I have never built a tank before so I could use some pointers.

Also the glass is 1/2 thick. Do I need to brace it, and if so where are how? Consider I could care less about looks as this is going to be a garage tank, where I can collect local fish.

Thanks guys, I appreciate any advice you can provide.

60 G HighTech Custom Wall Tank (Planted)
55 G Low Tech Discus Tank (Planted)
40 G Low Tech Community Tank (Planted)
7 G Low Tech Nano Tank (Planted)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-16-2016, 03:05 AM
Planted Tank Guru

plenty of youtube vids available for building tank... all you need, is silicone, tape, and an extra set of hands for a larger tank.

Cape Town, South Africa.

Hi. I'm back.
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-16-2016, 03:26 AM
Pixel Prestidigitator

PTrader: (10/100%)
Be careful with the silicone you use. GE1 doesn't have the shear strength needed on that size tank.

Dilution is the solution for the pollution.
Quote me as saying I was misquoted.
Once you get rid of integrity the rest is a piece of cake.
Here's to our wives and sweethearts - may they never meet.
If you agreed with me we'd both be right.