Fabricating stainless canister (for fun) - The Planted Tank Forum
 5Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 35 (permalink) Old 12-01-2015, 01:39 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (4/100%)
Fabricating stainless canister (for fun)

Before I start this thread I'd like to disclose a couple of things.

-I love building things out of steel, stainless included. This will likely go under a steel open stand for my brackish tank which I intend to upgrade to a much larger tank, which will explain the ridiculous filter size.
-I am a pipe fitter/plumber (by trade) and metal fabricator(by trade/hobby).
-I am doing this strictly for fun and curiousity, I realize I won't be saving money and I could likely get a similar result by just buying an fx6.
-my welder is out so this is going to be more for information purpose until I repair or upgrade my welder in march.
-ALL input is welcomed, if I use any suggested parts/ideas credit will be given.
-I will not be selling this or any future canisters, if I like my first product I may just make more for myself, I love my fx5 and it is without comparison when it comes to filtration power/efficiency which is important to me.

Okay on to my current ideas and questions

For the vessel itself:
if I want a brand new vessel it seems my easiest route would be to buy a 5 gallon corny keg, I've never seen one in person so I'm not entirely sold on them, they seem to have a fairly small opening at the top which isn't ideal, but they have a good seal and are a decent size.

I could go the expensive route and buy a pressure vessel from a certified vessel manufacturer but that may be completely cost prohibitive.
This is the ideal route since I could have a flanged top.

A deep pot may be an option I'd just have to weld a flange on to it. But I doubt I can find a 316 stainless pot or vat.