Need some advice on painting a MDF stand - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-16-2009, 05:08 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (9/100%)
Need some advice on painting a MDF stand

Hey all, need some advice on finishing my custom stand.
The stand is all MDF. I've read on here about using an oil-based primer, and I stopped by Home Depot today to pick some up. However, the guy behind the paint counter mentioned that there is a certain time frame after applying the oil based primer that water-based paint will stick to it, and if you wait too long the paint will just peel off. Is this a line of bull, or is there some accuracy to this? If its true, what time frame is it?

I was planning on 2 coats of Kilz oil-based primer, then 2-3 coats of paint. Do I need a sealer on top of that? If so, what's a good choice? Any advice on type of paint?

I'm also a paint noob. Any general advice for painting it? I'd like an ADA-like gray finish.
Some pics of the unfinished stand, which was built by a friend who is an amazing finish carpenter. (He swears this was "slapped together", but it looks pretty awesome to me!)

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-16-2009, 06:16 AM
Algae Grower

PTrader: (1/100%)
It will only peel off if you don't sand it after drying to give it some tooth for the paint to bit into.

Nice looking stand. Dontcha just love pocket hole jigs!

Steven
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-16-2009, 06:24 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

Quote:
Originally Posted by dantimdad View Post
It will only peel off if you don't sand it after drying to give it some tooth for the paint to bit into.

Nice looking stand. Dontcha just love pocket hole jigs!

Steven
The pocket hole jig was a new concept to me, but it seems to work great!

I assume lightly (hand?) sand. any advice on grit?

post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-16-2009, 02:55 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (2/100%)