Electrical Question. Rigging up 50W LED's. Voltage? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-16-2015, 12:05 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (6/100%)
Electrical Question. Rigging up 50W LED's. Voltage?

Alright so I have a completely _____ question.

I'm no electrician, but know how to splice together wires. There are these 50watt LED fixtures that come with probably a foot of cable, but no plug so I will have to attach a plug myself.

Well I have no idea about what voltage the lights should "come in".
I'm in the USA, so we use 110V or 120V?

The lights I'm looking at I see in their description saying 85-265V, 95-260V, 90-240V. No idea which is compatible, just want to make sure I get one that I can use/rig up. Does that mean any voltage between the two numbers is able to be used, so all would work for 110/120v?

By the way, what's the best way of connecting the wires so that the final product is waterproof? (yet still not look like a hack job -no silicone filled, taped up wire nuts)

Just want to be sure haha.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-16-2015, 01:18 PM
Banned

PTrader: (0/0%)
Quote:
Originally Posted by WaterLife View Post

The lights I'm looking at I see in their description saying 85-265V, 95-260V, 90-240V. No idea which is compatible, just want to make sure I get one that I can use/rig up. Does that mean any voltage between the two numbers is able to be used, so all would work for 110/120v?
Yes
Quote:
Originally Posted by WaterLife View Post
By the way, what's the best way of connecting the wires so that the final product is waterproof? (yet still not look like a hack job -no silicone filled, taped up wire nuts)

Just want to be sure haha.

Solder and shrink tube is the best visually I suppose.