DIY CO2 Hagen Elite reactor efficiency vs. airstone + HOB filter intake? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-25-2009, 07:45 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (7/100%)
Question DIY CO2 Hagen Elite reactor efficiency vs. airstone + HOB filter intake?

I was wondering if anyone would care to comment on which one of the two ways would be better for DIY CO2:

1. Using the Hagen Elite Mini filter as the reactor (http://www.aquaticplantcentral.com/f...2-reactor.html)

or

2. Just using an airstone and placing it right next to an AquaClear 50 filter intake

I have the airstone going right now. This is my first try with CO2. The amount of CO2 that's coming out is a constant very rapid stream of tiny bubbles coming out from only one spot on the stone, and then they all get sucked into the filter.

I have the Hagen Elite sitting in front of me ready to be broken into, but if the airstone into the filter would be equivalent or almost as good as the Hagen Elite reactor, I guess I could save $10, an extra outlet and room in my tank.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-25-2009, 10:18 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (98/100%)
i'd go with the hagen elite method. ive never tried the airstone + HOB filter combo, But hagen dissolve co2 better than any glass ceramic diffuser.

Eheim 2217 #346

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-25-2009, 11:30 PM
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
I use the Hagen Elite and it works great for diffusing CO2.
The only downside is the extra equipment in my small tank.
I may try a DIY inline reactor. If you try tha Hagen diffuse the
CO2 with an air stone in the Hagen, it makes it quieter .

post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-25-2009, 11:59 PM
tug