Building stacking sliding door help - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-31-2015, 06:40 PM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (7/100%)
Building stacking sliding door help

Hi everyone,

I am working at a coffee shop this year (and hopefully a few more) and we have a dreadful two panel door on the pasty display. It was sloppily drilled on about a year ago. It's there to keep the flies out, but it mostly looks bad, doesn't open all the way and is just terrible. I offered to help fix/replace it. Do any of you have any tips on creating a stacking sliding door system that doesn't get caught? I've never built something like this before, but it's exactly what the display needs!

I'm just looking for some tips! Particularly on making the doors slide smoothly.

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-31-2015, 07:42 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (2/100%)
Sorry! I would guess that you have come to the wrong site for homeowner DIY projects. This forum deals with DIY projects for planted fish tanks.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-01-2015, 01:03 AM Thread Starter
Planted Member

Yeah I know, but I figure it's similar to some projects people do for reptile tanks. I just wanted to see if I could get any pointers. I'm pretty confident that I can get it done either way.

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-01-2015, 02:01 AM
Planted Tank Guru

Okay. No problem on that. I quess I missed on the description of the doors wanted. On the theory that most any response is useful for keeping the subject alive, maybe a bump will get another thought going?
Are these hanging doors that one passes in front of the other? What I call bypass doors. A track at the top and bottom where the two doors ride?
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-01-2015, 09:27 PM Thread Starter
Planted Member

Yeah the track on top and bottom is the plan
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-01-2015, 10:18 PM
Planted Tank Guru